Beauty

Estee Lauder Essentials

Hi guys!

I am dying to tell you all about my Estee Lauder Collection, and why I love their products so much. We all have our favourite make-up that tops any other, and I guess Estee Lauder is mine, especially their double wear range, and I will say – with confidence –  that anyone else that has tried it will agree.

All in all I have the Double Wear foundation, concealer and powder, along with the cream contour kit.

THE LOOK: Using all the listed Estee Lauder producs below

The Double Wear range:

In my opinion, Estee Lauder Double wear is the god of all makeup, which I cannot really fault… much. Nothing’s perfect right?

Estee Lauder Double Wear – Stay-in-Place Makeup:

The reason I love this foundation so much is because of how brilliant the coverage is. If you are anything like me and want that ‘airbrushed’ look after applying foundation, this is definitely what I would recommend. The thickness of the makeup effortlessly covers any blemish on your face, and you don’t need much for your full face. If you prefer more of a light-weight foundation, this maybe isn’t for you.

I apply this with the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge, as the dampness of the sponge takes some of the weight out the foundation but still allows full coverage. No matter how this is applied, the foundation literally goes by it’s name and will stay in place all day, which is the only foundation out of many I have tried that actually does last all day. There is nothing worse than seeing a foundation boast about it’s long lasting abilities, then looking in the mirror after a couple of hours and seeing the spot you ‘covered’ up and the pores on your nose showing through.

Estee Lauder Double Wear – Stay-in-Place Flawless Wear Concealer:

I have always been so fussy with my concealers, as I expect them to conceal as well as highlight. After trying out what seemed to be the holy grail concealer in the blogging community – Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer – I have to hold my hands up and admit I wasn’t impressed. I feel like this just enhanced the parts I wanted to conceal, rather than hiding them.

After going out and treating myself to some new foundation, I was (very easily) tempted by the lady at the Estee Lauder counter to purchase the concealer. Because I am so terribly weak at saying no to makeup, and because I had never been disappointed before by anything from Estee, I decided to give it a go. This is very much on par with the popular Urban Decay Naked Skin concealer, which is also a winner.

It is a creamy texture, that is very long lasting and super blendable, which is soooo important with a concealer so we don’t look patchy! I apply a swipe of this under my eyes, and down the middle of my nose to highlight, along with a little dab to any blemishes I want to cover, then blend it all in again, with my RT sponge.

If you are after a flawless look, I would highly recommend this concealer. It would pair with a range of different foundations to provide more of a full coverage look, and it also goes fab with Double Wear foundation if you want to look extra-flawless.

Double Wear Stay-in-Place Dual Effect Powder Makeup:

The first thing I need to get out there about this powder is that is lasts a lifetime. I have had mine since the first time I ever purchased Estee Lauder foundation and I’ve gone through a good six bottles, but my powder is still going as strong as ever, and here’s why:

This powder can be worn on it’s own as a makeup, and will still look like you are wearing make-up, therefore when applying this on top of makeup, you only need a few little sweeps with a large dense powder brush and you’re good to go!

If you prefer a matte finish on your makeup, this is definitely the one for you, as it acts as a setting agent to keep your makeup in place. I have teamed this with many foundations and it really does add extra coverage and also sets it in place.

The powder comes with a sponge to apply it with, however I find that this can apply wayyyy more powder than what is actually needed, and can give off a ‘caked’ effect. If you are wanting to try this powder out, make sure you use a powder brush to sweep small amounts onto your face to avoid looking too mattified.

Contour 

Estee Lauder New Dimension Shape + Sculpt Face Kit:

This is Estee Lauder’s cream contour kit, which you probably guessed from the title. This comes with only two shades, a lighter cream for highlighting, and a darker cream for shading in. This is great if you are like me and get confused between all the different shades in other contour kits, however for £34.00 I would of expected a little more from this.

The darker shade for shadowing is very easy to apply, as it is versatile between being applied with a sponge or a brush, whichever you prefer and it will still go on nicely. Blending this out can be quite tricky, but as can any contour kits if you’re no expert. I will forever wonder how makeup artists manage to create such a flawless look with cream contour, it is just such a struggle for me!

I will be honest and tell you I dislike the lighter shade in the contour kit, which is supposed to be for highlighting. I feel that this is a very greasy consistency, and that shows on the skin after application. It doesn’t serve much purpose on the skin and certainly doesn’t highlight.

This contour kit was the only disappointing purchase I have had from Estee Lauder, which is a shame as I expected their cream contour to be as great as the rest of their products I had tried. I don’t know whether I disliked this product because I am not a fan of any cream contour kits because I find them so hard to use, or whether it really is not the best on the market.

Thanks for reading, hope you liked it! I’d love to know your thoughts on the Estee Lauder range in the comments…

1938863560493716100216

Leave a Reply

