Beauty

Cheap make up dupes 

Hi girls!

I thought I’d do a quick post on something that will come in very very handy! There’s nothing better than finding a dupe of your favourite expensive makeup, so you don’t have to fork out all the time for the same thing!

I discovered these dupes whilst on a blogging trip with my fellow blogging bestie Beth. After popping in a cute little shop in the search for Halloween props, we ended up stumbling across rows and rows of makeup, and walking out with 10 pound each worth of makeup products that were an exact mimic to our classic favourites – by well known brands such as Benefit and Urban Decay! So if your strapped for cash this month this is definitely worth a read.

After thoroughly inspecting a full isle of makeup, I finally settled upon three makeup dupes and even a beauty blender copy!

Absolute Lashes Mascara

dsc_0065-1

This is a dupe of the infamous Benefit ‘They’re Real‘ mascara, with the metallic coloured bottle – without looking at what the label actually says.. you would think it is the real thing lying in your makeup bag.

I was quite excited about this mascara as I was running out of my ‘thick and fast’ fast, so I had no choice but to use this as part of my daily routine.

I was sooo impressed with this mascara. It really enhanced the length of my lashes and also gave them a huge amount of volume! If I wasn’t aware this was a £1.99 dupe, I’d be convinced it cost at least £15 like the rest of the higher end mascaras!

  • ‘Absolute Lashes’ – £1.99
  • Benefit ‘They’re Real’ – £19.50

Which one to buy? DUPE

Honey Queen Honeycomb blusher:

dsc_0063

 

This is what sparked my inspo for this post, as there was a big notice on the shelf infront of these blushers, stating: ‘Just like Benefit Hula’. Yes they’d spelt Hoola wrong, but we get the gist.. It was an advertised dupe.

My first impressions of this product were pretty good, as it was nicely packaged and it even came with a brush to apply it, just like Benefit offer with their Hoola bronzer.

On testing the product, it doesn’t act as a blusher. I was slightly confused as to why it had been compared with a bronzer, so I figured it must do a better job at being a bronzer rather than a blush, but again I was wrong. The honey comb pattern includes lighter shades and also blush shades, taking away the bronzer effect. When comparing this to Benefit’s Hoola, it doesn’t quite do the same job. Hoola is a solid brown bronzer block, whereas this ‘dupe’ is completely different.

One thing I loved from this blusher was the shimmer shades in it, which gave you a light glow to the face without making it look too over the top, however it is retailed as a blusher, which can be misleading for those expecting a rose coloured blush.

  • Honey Queen Blusher – £2.99
  • Benefit Hoola – £23.00

Which to buy? REAL THING

Power Puff‘ makeup sponge: 

dsc_0055-1

There is no doubt about it that this little pink sponge is a dupe of the Beauty Blender, or even the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge due to the way it is shaped.

Upon buying this product, I was expecting it to work exactly the same as the miracle complexion sponge, as to me, a sponge is a sponge… nothing much can change between the two right?!

I religiously apply my foundation with the Real Techniques sponge every single morning, so today I tried out the Power Puff sponge. A soon as I pulled it out the box I knew straight away it wasn’t as good quality… The sponge felt very thick and heavy, even after it had been dampened and had expanded.

I found that this sponge absorbed the foundation rather than blended it into your skin, resulting in wasted foundation, an incredibly patchy face and also making you 10 minutes behind schedule. Nightmare!

I definitely believe you get what you pay for, especially when it comes to makeup application tools. I swear by the miracle complexion sponge, which I feel is cheap anyway!

  • ‘Power Puff’ sponge – £1.99
  • Real Techniques miracle complexion – £5.99

Which to buy? REAL THING.

Nude Addicts Eyeshadow Palette

dsc_0056

When I caught a glimpse of this sitting on the shelf I instantly thought of Urban Decay’s Naked Basics palette. However on opening this palette it is more Orange and gold shimmers, which I found strange as I wouldn’t class them as nude shades.

dsc_0058

After testing out these products I was disappointed, as there was not a single matte shade in this palette. I find that using too many shimmer shades looks way too much on the eyes, so this didn’t do it for me! I have included some swatches to show you guys the colours and how they look on the skin.


As you can see, the pigmentation in the shadows wasn’t great and they seemed to just crumble on the skin, but what can we expect for such a cheap palette…

  • Nude Addicts Palette – £3.99
  • Naked Basics – £23.00

Which to buy? If it’s nudes your after – REAL THING.

Hope you enjoyed reading!

Leave a Reply

