Beauty · Latest Trends

The Baking Method – the recipe for a flawless look?

Hi girls!


I’m sure you will of all heard about the baking method by now, which a lot of people are using to brighten up their faces and create that flawless look- regardless of what other makeup they might be using. For those of you who haven’t quite caught onto this secret and have been wondering how the hell people have been concealing their under eye so well, this is what you’re missing:

The ‘baking’ method is essentially a process that offers complete coverage to any area you wish to conceal, particularly used under the eye to conceal bags and to generally brighten up the face. The trick to getting this right involves the correct tools. You will need:

  • Primer and foundation (base coat)
  • Concealer
  • Translucent finishing/setting powder (loose powder works best)
  • A damp makeup sponge (beauty blender or wedge sponge)
  • A powder or contour brush


There are various different ways to ‘bake’ your makeup out there on the internet, so if you do use this method and I have wrote about, that’s fine – everybody has their own preferred methods, especially when it comes to makeup application.


The way I bake my makeup is pretty simple, and here’s how you can do it too:

STEP ONE: Apply your primer and foundation as normal.

STEP TWO: Apply concealer under the eyes, down the middle of the nose, on the chin and also just underneath where you’re shaded contour will go, and blend.

STEP THREE: Contour the darker areas of your face, but leave the brightening step for later.

STEP FOUR: Apply extra concealer to the areas you wish to ‘bake’. This will most likely be under the eye area and chin to balance it out. Blend out using a damp sponge – this will give the powder something to stick too.

STEP FIVE: Gather your loose translucent setting power either with a brush or damp sponge, and apply generously on to the concealed area.

STEP SIX: Continue with the rest of your makeup, leaving the excess powder to ‘bake’ on your face.

STEP SEVEN: After around 10 minutes, dust off the remaining excess powder with a small powder brush and blend out. You should now have flawless under eyes!

BAKING: Thumbs up from me!


It took me a while to jump on the bandwagon and try this out for myself as I used to think that was far too much of a waste of setting powder and also told myself I’d never be able to make my makeup as flawless as all the tutorials I had watched on this peculiar makeup technique.

I have made a little video showing you all my first attempt, and I can also say I am a huge fan of this technique now!

The products I have used are:

  • Collection ‘Primed & ready’ Invisible setting powder.
  • EstΓ©e Lauder ‘Double wear’ foundation
  • EstΓ©e Lauder ‘Double Wear’ concealer
  • Anastasia Beverly Hills contour kit
  • Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge.
  • Real Techniques Sculpting Brush
  • Real Techniques Contour Brush

Thank you for reading my post! Hope you have fun experimenting with this technique!

1938863560493716100216

4 thoughts on “The Baking Method – the recipe for a flawless look?

Leave a Reply

